Thank you for visiting!

This is the website of author VL McBeath.

Her first series was a family saga set in and around Birmingham, England between 1839 and 1910.

The Ambition & Destiny Series

The content on this website predominantly reflects research supporting elements of the storyline.

The 70 years covered in the series were a time of rapid change and thanks to the Industrial Revolution. It saw the country evolve from a largely rural environment to an urban, industrialised one. It also gave men the opportunity to rise from their working-class origins to join the ranks of the middle-classes.

Almost every aspect of life changed over the course of these sixty years and
The Ambition & Destiny Series tells of one family’s trials, tragedies, and triumphs as they seek their fortune.

Use the menu bar above to discover more about the lives of the Victorians.

Complete the box below to receive the
monthly newsletter and your FREE copy of 

Condemned by Fate

Her new series: Eliza Thomson Investigates, is a completely fictitious world that starts at the beginning of the 20th century.

Further details can be found under the ‘Books’ tab.

If you like murder mysteries and historical heroines with attitude, you’ll love this step-back-in-time series.

To receive an introductory novella to the series: A Deadly Tonic