Welcome to the website of VL McBeath

VL McBeath is the author of

The Ambition & Destiny Series

The Windsor Street Family Saga


Eliza Thomson Investigates


Use this website to explore Victorian-era England and understand the backdrop of each series.

To get a FREE copy of the first book in each series, complete the boxes below.


The Ambition & Destiny Series

The story of one family’s trials, tribulations and triumphs as they seek their fortune in Victorian-era, England.

The Windsor Street Family Saga

Inspired by a true story, a story of love, loss and hope set in Victorian-era Liverpool and beyond.


Eliza Thomson Investigates

If you like murder mysteries, and historical heroines with attitude, you’ll love this series of standalone cozy mysteries set in Edwardian-era England.

Victorian-Era England

The remaining content on this website predominantly reflects the research carried out by VL McBeath to support the key elements of The Ambition & Destiny storyline.

The 70 years covered in the series were a time of rapid change and thanks to the Industrial Revolution. It saw the country evolve from a largely rural environment to an urban, industrialised one. It also gave men the opportunity to rise from their working-class origins to join the ranks of the middle-classes.

Use the menu bar above to discover more about the lives of the Victorians.